17
Jan
13

ULA – Lost Opportunity

My new piece on the state of the ULA is available on Irish Left Review – http://www.irishleftreview.org/2013/01/17/lost-opportunity/

2 Responses to “ULA – Lost Opportunity”


  1. 1 redarmyleader
    February 3, 2013 at 22:06

    This might be a really stupid question, but why haven’t you attempted to build your own organization if you are able to see these different opportunities pass by? Are you just merely hoping and waiting for the right organization to come along, gather all the genuine revolutionary forces together and defeat the terrible influence and betrayal of the trade union bureaucrats and social-democratic leaders (SP and SWP included in that category]? This may seem like a sharp question bordering on some seriousness rudeness (I am American so forgive me for that natural trait) but I do wonder how you actually plan on working on a solution to the problems that you see. I know the answer is not an easy one, but really want to know what your answer is nonetheless.

    • February 3, 2013 at 23:21

      Well I was a member of a small propaganda grouping, the International Bolshevik Tendency, until such time as a change in my personal circumstances a few years ago made that no longer possible. So for the bulk of the time I have considered myself to be a revolutionary Marxist I was actively participating in building an organisation.

      This is of course much more difficult as an organisationally isolated indivudal operating in a new political terrain (while there are similarities with my political experience in New Zealand and Britain there is much about political life in Ireland that is different and I still have to learn).

      But in a general sense, if not in an immediate organisational sense, I consider that all my political activity (which if you read this blog you will get something of a flavour for), and especially the more detailed programmatic statements I produce from time to time, is at least partially about finding others who share my general understanding of how to fight capitalism in the here and now, combined with how to overthrow it. So in a certain sense all my political activity is about trying to build an organisation. Of course there is more to it than that as a lot of my political activity also has immediate aspects to it in terms of maximising the outcomes of the various campaign activity I am involved in.

      I do not see myself as passively waiting for an organisation to come along but rather as an activie participant in the class struggle, including the struggle to build a revolutionary party. So far in my time in Ireland this has been unsuccessful in concrete organisational terms but I have some hope that the political profile, and some degree of political authority, I have managed to build over the past 6 years will bear some more concrete organisational fruit in the coming period.

      I hope that answers your question but feel free to ask more if you require further clarification.


Leave a Reply

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 304 other followers

